Skip to main content


Donald W. Miller Math Recognition Award

Each year since 1992, Lincoln Rotary Club #14 proudly presents the Donald W. Miller Math Recognition Award, recognizing outstanding mathematics educators in the Lincoln area. The club endowed this award in honor of former member, past club president (1986–87) and Rotary leader, Donald W. Miller.

As a University of Nebraska-Lincoln professor, Don gave many years of sustained leadership in the field of mathematics and has been recognized locally and nationally for his efforts. In his early years at Nebraska, Don did mathematical research and published several articles. Don helped design the graduate program that is still offered by the Department of Mathematics and Statistics at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Don continued his work in mathematics education and in 1986 was part of a group that helped establish three-week on-site institutes for elementary teachers in various Nebraska communities. In 1989 Don received a planning grant for the Nebraska Mathematics Coalition and led the Nebraska effort to receive funding for a Statewide Systemic Initiative grant. Nebraska was one of only ten states nationally to receive initial funding for this important program.

Don was recognized with a Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Award in 1988 and the UNL Distinguished Educational Service Award in 1989. He was a loyal and trusted friend and leader of Rotary Club #14 until his death in 1992.

Past Miller Math Award Recipients

1992 Jerry Beckman - Lincoln East High School
1993 James Campbell - Lincoln Northeast High School
1994 Suzanne Kirby - Randolph Elementary School
1995 Mary Butler - Lincoln East High School
1996 Janis Hiatt - Rousseau Elementary School
1997 Don Olsen - Lincoln High School
1998 William E. Rogge - Lincoln Northeast High School
1999 Matthew R. Larson - Math Consultant, Lincoln Public Schools
2000 Leona Penner - Lincoln East High School
2001 Mary Ann Coulter - Pius X High School
2002 Buren “Skip Thomas - Lincoln Northeast High School
2003 Linda Splichal - Humann Elementary School
2004 Susan J. Graupner - Assistant Mathematics Curriculum Specialist, Lincoln Public Schools
2005 Deb Watchorn - Belmont Elementary School
2006 David R. Hartman - Lincoln Southwest High School
2007 Julie M. Kreizel - Mickle Middle School
2008 Michelle Reeb Homp - University of Nebraska-Lincoln Center for Science, Math & Computer Education
2009 Susan K. Katt - Lincoln Public Schools - Elementary Math Coordinator
2010 Diane M. Swartzlander - Schoo Middle School
2011 Sherry M. West - Lincoln Southeast High School
2012 Kimberly Zetterman - Adams Elementary
2013 Jerel Welker - Lincoln High School
2014 Delise R. Andrews - Lincoln Public Schools - District Math Coordinator
2015 Dr. W. James Lewis - University of Nebraska-Lincoln Aaron Douglas Professor of Mathematics & Director, Center for Science, Mathematics & Computer Education
2016 Darla R. Kelberlau-Berks - Lincoln Public Schools District Office
2017 Douglass Matulka - Lincoln High School
2018 John Matzke - Lincoln East High School